ECDL Standard

Certification Earned:
ECDL Standard
Certification Details:

The ECDL Standard is the main certification program of the ECDL Foundation. It is a test of practical skills and competencies and consists of 4 Basic modules plus 3 Intermediate modules.
To achieve an ECDL Standard certification, the Candidate must successfully pass an exam in all seven modules.


Base modules certify skills that are considered essential skills – together they form the set of skills and knowledge that are crucial for all, which is why they are considered essential.
The 4 Base modules are:

  • Computer Essentials – skills and concepts relating to the use of devices, file creation and management, networks and data security.
  • Online Essentials – skills and concepts relating to web browsing, effective information search, online communication and e-mail.
  • Word Processing – skills to accomplish everyday tasks associated with creating, formatting and finishing word processing documents,
    such as letters, CVs, and other documents.
  • Spreadsheets – skills to perform tasks associated with developing, formatting, modifying and using a spreadsheet,
    to use standard formulas and functions, and to competently create and format graphs or charts.

There is a wide range of Intermediate modules to choose from, depending on your needs – either at work or at home.
The 3 Intermediate modules that our center provides, are:

  • Presentation – create professional standard presentations. Perform tasks such as creating, formatting, modifying and preparing presentations
    using different slide layouts for display and printed distribution.
  • Using Databases – use a desktop database effectively. Understand the main concepts of databases and demonstrate the ability to use a
    database application: creating and modifying tables, queries, forms and reports,
    and preparing outputs ready for distribution. Learning to relate tables and to retrieve and manipulate information from a database by using query and sort tools.
  • IT Security – learn how to keep your and your organization’s data safe, and how to be safe online, including secure social media use.
Microsoft Outlook
Microsoft Word – Basic
Microsoft Excel – Basic
Microsoft PowerPoint
Microsoft Access
Professional Exam(s)
Exam Base Module 1 – Computer Essentials
Exam Base Module 2 – Online Essentials
Exam Base Module 3 – Word Processing
Exam Base Module 4 – Spreadsheets
Exam Intermediate Module 1 – Presentation
Exam Intermediate Module 2 – Using Databases
Exam Intermediate Module 3 – IT Security